TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Andrew Gerle, Marcy Heisler, Matt Schatz Win Kleban Prizes logo
Marcy Heisler
(© Tristan Fuge)
The Kleban Foundation has announced that the recipients of the 22nd Annual Kleban Prizes, which will be presented at a private ceremony at ASCAP on June 18.

The award for the most promising musical theatre lyricist has gone to Marcy Heisler, while the Kleban Prize for the most promising musical theatre librettist is a tie between Andrew Gerle and Matt Schatz.

The judges making the final determination this year were Tony Award-winning librettist Marshall Brickman, President and Executive Director of The Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization Ted Chapin, and Tony Award-winning actress Debra Monk.

Heisler, along with longtime composing partner Zina Goldrich, received the Fred Ebb Award in 2009 for outstanding songwriting. Among her works are Junie B. Jones, Dear Edwina, and the upcoming musical adaptation of Ever After.

Gerle wrote book, music and lyrics for Gloryana, which received a 2011 Richard Rodgers Award. Other works for theater include Meet John Doe, The Tutor, Brighter Things, and A Perfect Christmas.

Schatz was commissioned by the Actors Theatre of Louisville to write music and lyrics for Oh, Gastronomy! which premiered this spring at the 36th Humana Festival of New American Plays, and his original musical Love Trapezoid received a developmental production at the Astoria Performing Arts Center.

Tagged in this Story