TheaterMania Logo
Photo Flash

An Invitation to the Ball: Laura Osnes, Santino Fontana, and the Cast of Broadway's Cinderella in Rehearsal

Meet the cast of the upcoming production of the classic Rodgers and Hammerstein musical. logo

The cast of the Broadway production of Rodgers and Hammerstein's Cinderella invited the press to a sneak preview of the musical on Monday, January 7 at their rehearsal hall. Directed by Drama Desk winner Mark Brokaw (How I Learned to Drive), and featuring a new book by Tony Award nominee Douglas Carter Beane (The Little Dog Laughed), Cinderella begins previews January 25 at the Broadway Theatre, with an official opening set for March 3.

During the press event, principal cast members Tony Award nominee Laura Osnes (Cinderella), Drama Desk Award winner Santino Fontana (Prince Topher), and Tony Award winner Victoria Clark (the Fairy Godmother) joined the full ensemble to sing the timeless Rodgers and Hammerstein classics "Impossible" and "Ten Minutes Ago," accompanied by musical supervisor David Chase, with musical director Andy Einhorn conducting. Inspired by the 1957 television musical, which was never actually performed on Broadway, Beane's version of Cinderella will be a contemporary take on the tale of a maid who becomes a princess with the help of her fairy godmother, a pumpkin carriage, a ball gown, and a glass slipper.

The company also includes Tony Award winner Harriet Harris (Thoroughly Modern Millie) as Cinderella's Stepmother, Madame, Peter Bartlett (The Drowsy Chaperone) as Sebastian, Prince Topher's mentor and Lord Chancellor, Ann Harada (Avenue Q) as Stepsister Charlotte, Marla Mindelle (Sister Act) as Stepsister Gabrielle, Greg Hildreth (Peter and the Starcatcher) as the rebel Jean-Michel, and Phumzile Sojola (The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess) as Lord Pinkleton. Featured in the ensemble are Jill Abramovitz, Kristine Bendul, Heidi Giberson, Stephanie Gibson, Shonica Gooden, Kendal Hartse, Robert Hartwell, Laura Irion, Andy Jones, Andy Mills, Linda Mugleston, Peter Nelson, Nick Spangler, Cody Williams, Branch Woodman, Kevin Worley, Drew Franklin, Adam Jepsen, Alessa Neeck, and Kirstin Tucker.

Cinderella's creative team will be comprised of Josh Rhodes (choreography), Anna Louizos (scenic design), William Ivey Long (costume design), Ken Posner (lighting design), and Nevin Steinberg (sound design). The lead producers are Robyn Goodman, Jill Furman, and Stephen Kocis.

Click here for more information and tickets to Cinderella.