TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Allen, Durang, Kurtz et al. to Honor Wendy Wassterstein at O'Neill Gala logo
Swoosie Kurtz
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Joan Allen, Christopher Durang, Peter Friedman, and Swoosie Kurtz will be among the performers on hand to honor the late playwright Wendy Wasserstein, who will posthumously receive the Eugene O'Neill Theatre Center's 7th Annual Monte Cristo Award at its annual gala, to be held at 6pm on Monday, April 30 at The Puck Building.

The evening's program, which will include readings from Wasserstein's plays and essays, will be directed by her longtime artistic associate, Michael Barakiva. Other scheduled performers include Caroline Aaron, Amy Aquino, Alma Cuervo, Christine Estabrook, Lizbeth Mackay, and Mimi Lieber.

Previous recipients of the award include Jason Robards, Jr., Edward Albee, Zoe Caldwell, August Wilson, Karl Malden, and Brian Dennehy. Wasserstein will also be honored by the establishment of a named endowment to support the O'Neill Center's open submissions program in perpetuity.

For tickets and information, call 860-443-5378 ext. 217 or email [email protected]

Tagged in this Story