TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

82nd Annual Academy Awards Are Presented logo
Jeff Bridges and Maggie Gyllenhaal in Crazy Heart
(© 20th Century Fox)
The 82nd Annual Academy Awards were held on Sunday, March 7 in Los Angeles and aired live on ABC. Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin hosted the ceremony.

The Hurt Locker won six Oscars, including Best Picture and Best Director for Kathryn Bigelow. The film stars Jeremy Renner, who was nominated for Best Actor, along with Anthony Mackie (who is currently on Broadway in A Behanding in Spokane) and Brian Geraghty (who is currently starring in the Mark Taper Forum's production of The Subject Was Roses).

Acting honors went to Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart), Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side), Mo'Nique (Precious), and Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Bastards).

Broadway veterans who presented awards or appeared on the telecast included Barbra Streisand, Stanley Tucci, Michael Sheen, Peter Sarsgaard, Anna Kendrick, Carey Mullligan, Kathy Bates, John Travolta, Sean Penn, Ben Stiller, and Bradley Cooper. In addition, Neil Patrick Harris performed the opening number.

The Oscars were produced by Adam Shankman and Bill Mechanix and featured a set by Tony Award nominee David Rockwell. Tony winner Marc Shaiman was the evening's music director.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story