TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2001-2002 Theatre World Awards Winners Announced logo

The winners of the 2001-2002 Theatre World Awards were announced today. The awards are given annually to performers who have made a "reviewable" New York debut, be it off or on Broadway. There are six female and six male winners, as follows:



Emma Fielding (Sybil in Private Lives)
Spencer Kayden (Little Sally in Urinetown)
Gretchen Mol (Jenny in The Shape of Things)
Anna Paquin (Lisa in The Glory of Living)
Louise Pitre (Donna Sheridan in Mamma Mia!)
Rachel Weisz (Evelyn in The Shape of Things)

Justin Bohon (Will Parker in Oklahoma!)
Simon Callow (Dickens in The Mystery of Charles Dickens)
Mos Def (Booth in Topdog/Underdog)
Adam Godley (Victor in Private Lives)
Martin Jarvis (Jeeves in By Jeeves)
David Warner (Andrew Undershaft in Major Barbara)


This year's election committee consists of Clive Barnes (The New York Post), Peter Filichia (, Harry Haun (Playbill), Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter), Michael Sommers (The Star-Ledger), Doug Watt (The New York Daily News), and Linda Winer (New York Newsday). In explaining the eligibility requirements for the awards, Filichia addressed the subject of what exactly is meant by a "reviewable" New York debut. "For example," he told TheaterMania, "if someone has appeared in the chorus of Les Misérables, we don't hold that against him if he gets a break-out role the following year."

The winners will receive their trophies at a ceremony beginning at 3:30pm on June 3 at Studio 54.

Tagged in this Story