TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Michigan's Wilde Award Winners Announced logo
A production shot from the Rock of Ages national tour
(© Dan Lippitt)
The 11th annual Wilde Awards,'s celebration of the best of Michigan professional theater, were presented at West Bloomfield's Berman Center for the Performing Arts on August 21.

The Best Musical or Opera winner was Michigan Opera Theatre's I Pagliacci, directed by Bernard Uzan. The Rock of Ages national tour, put on by Broadway in Detroit, won Best Touring Production. The Best Comedy was Robert Kauzlaric's Tartuffe at the Michigan Shakespeare Festival, and the Best Drama went to Rhiannon Ragland's A Stone Carver at Jeff Daniels' The Purple Rose Theatre Company.

Acting awards went to Robin Lewis-Bedz (Best Performance, Actress - Comedy) for The Dead Guy at Williamston Theatre, Linda Ramsay (Best Performance, Actress - Drama) for The Rise and Fall of Little Voice at Planet Ant Theatre, Kim Zimmer (Best Performance, Actress - Musical or Opera) for Sunset Boulevard at Barn Theatre, Cara Trautman (Best Performance, Actress - Original One-Act Comedy or Solo Performance) for Seance 4 at Planet Ant Theatre, Kat Hermes (Best Performance - The Bard) for Henry IV, Part 1 at Pigeon Creek Shakespeare Company, David Spencer (Best Performance, Actor - Comedy) for The 39 Steps at Mason Street Warehouse, Guy Sanville (Best Performance, Actor - Drama) for A Stone Carver at The Purple Rose Theatre Company, Corey McKern (Best Performance, Actor - Musical or Opera) for The Marriage of Figaro at Michigan Opera Theatre, and Peter Prouty (Best Performance, Actor - Original One-Act Comedy or Solo Performance) for Oh, Hell! at The Abreact.


Tagged in this Story