TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Kinky Boots Creators Cyndi Lauper and Harvey Fierstein Join Hollywood Walk of Fame

The Broadway collaborators will get stars in front of the Pantages Theatre.

Kinky Boots creators Cyndi Lauper and Harvey Fierstein will receive stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.
(© David Gordon)

Cyndi Lauper and Harvey Fierstein, the creators of the Tony-winning musical Kinky Boots, will be honored on April 11 with stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in front of the historic Pantages Theatre. Lauper's star will be dedicated in the category of Recording, and Fierstein's star will be dedicated in the category of Live Performance. The ceremony will be live-streamed exclusively here.

The event will feature a special performance by Tiffany Engen, who plays Lauren in the touring company of Kinky Boots, returning to the Pantages Theatre for a run from April 13-24.

Hollywood Chamber president and CEO Leron Gubler will emcee. Unveiling the stars will be guest speakers Wayne Brady (who recently ended his run in Kinky Boots on Broadway), Sharon Osbourne, and Kinky Boots' Tony Award-winning director and choreographer Jerry Mitchell.

Kinky Boots opened on Broadway on April 4, 2013, and earned six Tony Awards including Best Musical, Best Original Score, and Best Choreography. The production features a book by Harvey Fierstein and a score by Cyndi Lauper. The current Broadway cast stars Andy Kelso as Charlie Price, Alan Mingo Jr. as Lola (beginning performances March 29), Jeanna de Waal as Lauren, and Cortney Wolfson as Nicola.

For tickets to Kinky Boots on Broadway, click here.