TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Hugh Jackman, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, and Others Are Up for Golden Globes

Nominations for the 2018 awards have been announced.

Hugh Jackman is nominated for a Golden Globe Award for his performance in the upcoming movie musical The Greatest Showman.
(© David Gordon)

The nominations for the 2018 Golden Globe Awards were announced this morning, and among the nominees are Tony Award winner Hugh Jackman for his lead performance in the upcoming movie musical The Greatest Showman; Dear Evan Hansen Tony winners Benj Pasek and Justin Paul for "This Is Me," a song from that film; and the film itself for Best Motion Picture Musical or Comedy. The Greatest Showman, which is inspired by the life of P.T. Barnum, will open in the U.S. on December 20.

Other theater people who scored Golden Globe nominations include playwright Martin McDonagh for his screenplay and direction of Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, as well as Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell for their performances in the film; Tony winner Laurie Metcalf (A Doll's House, Part 2) and Saoirse Ronan (The Crucible) for Lady Bird; Tony winner Jessica Lange (Long Day's Journey Into Night) for her performance as Joan Crawford in the FX series Feud: Bette and Joan; and Lucille Lortel Award winner Timothée Chalamet and Armie Hammer, who is set to make his Broadway debut in Young Jean Lee's Straight White Men next year, for their performances in Call Me by Your Name.

In addition, Tony nominee Allison Janney (Six Degrees of Separation) was nominated for her supporting performance in the Tonya Harding biopic I, Tonya, Tony winner Judi Dench for Victoria & Abdul, Tony winner Helen Mirren for The Leisure Seeker, Michelle Williams (Blackbird) and Christopher Plummer for All the Money in the World, Tony winner Denzel Washington (who will star in the upcoming Broadway revival of The Iceman Cometh) for Roman J. Israel, Esq., Tom Hanks (Lucky Guy) for The Post, Liev Schreiber (Les Liaisons Dangereuses) for the Showtime drama Ray Donovan, and David Harbour for Netflix's Stranger Things.

For a complete list of nominees, click here. The winners will be announced January 7.