TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Dolly Parton, John Glover, Judy Kaye, Sharon Lawrence, and More Win LADCC Awards logo
Dolly Parton
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The winners have been announced for the 40th Annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards, which were presented at a ceremony on Monday, March 16 at the El Portal Theatre in North Hollywood. The awards were hosted by Vicki Lewis and Wenzel Jones.

Among the more prominent winners are composer Dolly Parton and choreographer Andy Blankenbuehler for their work on 9 to 5, which comes to Broadway next month; playwright Athol Fugard for Victory; composer-lyricist Michael Friedman for Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson; solo performer Nilaja Sun for No Child...; and actors John Glover (Secrets of the Trade), Judy Kaye (Sweeney Todd), JD Cullum (Don Juan), and Sharon Lawrence (Orson's Shadow).

Production awards went to Elephant Theater Company's Anything with additional wins for director David Fofi and lead performer Louis Jacobs; Fountain Theater's Gem of the Ocean, also winning for director Ben Bradley and featured performer Adolphus Ward; and Sacred Fools Theater Company's Louis & Keely Live at the Sahara, which also won for director Jeremy Aldridge, musical director Dennis Kaye, and lead performer Jake Broder.

Special awards were given to playwright EM Lewis, lighting designer Lisa D. Katz, director Nick DeGruccio, the Sacred Fools Theatre Company, and the Los Angeles Women's Shakespeare Company.

For tickets and other information, visit

Tagged in this Story