TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Diahann Carroll, Cloris Leachman, et al. to Be Inducted into the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences' Hall of Fame logo
Diahann Carroll
Stage and screen stars Diahann Carroll and Cloris Leachman are among the new inductees into the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences' Hall of Fame, according to a report on They will be honored in a ceremony to be held on January 20 at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

The 2011 inductee list also includes cable executive Tom Freston, composer Earle Hagen, writer and producer Susan Harris, broadcast journalist Peter Jennings, and game show producer Bill Todman.

Carroll starred on Broadway in House of Flowers and won a Tony Award for her performance in No Strings. She received an Academy Award nomination for Claudine. Her television credits include the groundbreaking TV series, Julia, for which she won a Golden Globe, as well as the hit TV series Dynasty.

Leachman's stage credits include As You Like It, South Pacific, A Story for a Sunday Evening (which earned her a Theater World Award), The Crucible, Sunday Breakfast, and King of Hearts. Her many film and television credits include The Last Picture Show, Young Frankenstein, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Phyllis, and Dancing with the Stars.

Tagged in this Story