TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Debbie Allen, Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter, Bill T. Jones, Phylicia Rashad, Will Smith, Jada Smith Nominated for NAACP Theatre Awards logo

Shawn “Jay Z” Carter
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Nominations have been announced for the 22nd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards, to be held at the Directors Guild of America in Hollywood on Monday, November 5, at 6pm.

The Pasadena Playhouse production of Twist leads the field with seven nominations, including two for Debbie Allen as both director and choreographer. Leads Tamyra Gray and Alaman Diadhiou and supporting actor Cleavant Derricks are also nominated, as is costume designer E Sosa, and the show's producers.

Among the competitors in that latter category is Fela!, whose producers include Ruth & Stephen Hendel, Shawn "Jay Z" Carter, Will Smith, and Jada Pinkett Smith. Bill T. Jones has picked up two nominations as director and choreographer for that show, as well, with nominations also going to star Sahr Ngaujah, supporting actress Melanie Marshall, and music director Aaron Johnson.

The touring production of Bring It On the Musical – which has now landed on Broadway – has picked up several nominations, including for Best Ensemble Cast, choreographer Andy Blakenbuehler, music director Dave Pepin, set designer David Korins, sound designer Brian Ronan, and costume designer Andrea Lauer.

Charlayne Woodard is nominated for her one person show The Night Watcher, with other solo artist recognized for their work including Sandy Brown, Kaypri, Vickilyn Reynolds, and Kimi Walker.

Additional acting nominees include Kaira Akita, Ric B. Anthony, Sola Bamis, Brandon David Brown, Danika Butler, Kim Estes, Dale Fielder, Gichi Gamba, Edi Gathegi, DJ Jedi, Juhahn Jones, Diarra Kilpatrick, Rhonda Morman, Alex Morris, Toyin Moses, Tarina Pouncy, Kinnik Sky, Jennifer Leigh Warren, and Karen Malina White.

For more information and a full list of nominees, visit


Tagged in this Story