TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Roger Allam, Andrew Garfield, Kristin Scott Thomas, et al. Win Evening Standard Film Awards logo
Kristin Scott Thomas
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The winners of the Evening Standard Awards for film were announced in a ceremony held on Monday, February 7, according the BBC News website. Stephen Mangan hosted the event, which was held at the London Film Museum.

Among the winners are Andrew Garfield, who won the award for Best Actor for his work in The Social Network and Never Let Me Go. Kristin Scott Thomas won the Best Actress award for her turn in the French film Leaving.

Among the other winners are Roger Allam, who won the Peter Sellers comedy award for his work in Tamara Drewe, and Christopher Nolan, who received the Alexander Walker Special Award for exceptional contribution to cinema.

The prize for Best Picture went to Neds, a study of violent youth in 1970s Glasgow from director Peter Mullan; and Clio Barnard received the prize for Best Screenplay for The Arbor, a look at the late playwright Andrea Dunbar's life on a housing estate in Bradford.

Tagged in this Story