TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Wayne Brady, Susan Lucci, Barry Manilow, Donny Osmond, et al. to Appear on Daytime Emmy Awards logo
Barry Manilow
The 37th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards will be held on Sunday, June 27 in Las Vegas and aired on CBS-TV.

Regis Philbin will host the ceremony, which will include a tribute to the long-running TV series American Bandstand and host Dick Clark.

Among the many stars who are reportedly scheduled to appear on the broadcast, as performers or presenters, are Wayne Brady, Jeff Foxworthy, Susan Lucci, Barry Manilow, Vanesa Marcil, Cameron Mathison, Kelly Monaco, Donny Osmond, Tony Orlando, Wayne Newton, Rachael Ray, Peter Reckell, Louise Sorel, Alex Trebek, and Montel Williams.

The event will also feature performances from some of Las Vegas' hottest shows, including The Lion King, Jersey Boys, Jubilee, Cirque du Soleil, and Blue Man Group.

As previously reported, PBS led all networks with 53 nominations, followed by ABC with 51 and CBS with 45. Of individual shows, General Hospital led the pack with 18, followed by The Young and the Restless (16), Sesame Street (14), One Life to Live (13), and As the World Turns (13).

Stage veterans who were recognized for their work on daytime dramas include Bradford Anderson (General Hospital), Ricky Paull Goldin (All My Children), Brian Kerwin (One Life to Live), Michael Park (As the World Turns), Marnie Schulenberg (As the World Turns), and Bree Williamson (One Life to Live).

Nominated for their work in animated series are Ed Asner (Word Girl), Eartha Kitt (The Wonder Pets), Philip Seymour Hoffman (Arthur), and Amy Poehler (The Mighty B!).

In addition, the hosts of The View -- Barbara Walters, Whoopi Goldberg, Joy Behar, Elizabeth Hasselbeck, and Sherri Shepherd -- were nominated as Outstanding Talk Show Host, and Wayne Brady was nominated as Outstanding Game Show Host for Let's Make a Deal.

Tagged in this Story