TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Sean Christopher Lewis, Martin Zimmerman Plays Win National New Play Network's 2010 Smith Prize logo
Sean Christopher Lewis' Killadelphia: Mixtape of a City and Martín Zimmerman's White Tie Ball are the recipients of the 2010 Smith Prize, presented by the National New Play Network. The two writers will share in the $5,000 cash prize.

The award is given annually to the best new play focusing on American politics. Killadelphia is a solo show about lifers in a Philadelphia prison, while White Tie Ball is a story of two Latino brothers set against the backdrop of Southwest politics.

The National New Play Network (NNPN) is an alliance of leading nonprofit theaters that champions the development, production and continued life of new plays.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story