TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

David Cromer's Our Town Wins Top Honors at Non-Equity Jeff Awards logo
David Cromer
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The Jeff Awards have announced recipients for the Non-Equity Jeff Awards, which honor excellence in Chicago theaters not under a union contract. The awards were presented at a ceremony at the Park West on June 8.

The Hypocrites' staging of Our Town won the award for Outstanding Production - Play, with director David Cromer also winning an award. Cromer remounted his production of this play Off-Broadway, where the production is currently running at the Barrow Street Theatre.

The most awards of any single production went to Theo Ubique's Evita, which received honors for Outstanding Production - Musical or Revue, director Fred Anzevino, choreographer Brenda Didier, music director Ryan Brewster, and actors Maggie Portman and Chris Damiano (who also won for his performance in Jacques Brel's Lonesome Losers of the Night).

For more information, including a full list of nominees and winners, visit

Tagged in this Story