TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

David Cromer, Brian Dennehy, Michael Shannon, David Schwimmer, et al. Receive 2010 Jeff Award Nominations logo
David Schwimmer
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Nominations for the 2010 Joseph Jefferson Equity Awards, honoring the best in professional Chicago-area theater, have been announced. The awards will be presented in a ceremony to be held on Monday, October 25, at Drury Lane Oakbrook.

Among the numerous actors recognized for their work were Mississippi Charles Bevel (Low Down Dirty Blues), Quentin Earl Darrington (Ragtime), Brian Dennehy (Hughie/Krapp's Last Tape), Felicia P. Fields (Low Down Dirty Blues), Mary Beth Fisher (The Year of Magical Thinking), Francis Guinan (A Guide for the Perplexed), Tom Irwin (A Parallelogram), Tracy Letts (American Buffalo), Lia Mortensen (The Hiding Place), Dael Orlandersmith (Stoop Stories), Marissa Perry (Hairspray), Gregory Porter (Low Down Dirty Blues), Michael Shannon (Mistakes Were Made), Joey Slotnick (Animal Crackers), and Allison Torem (Trust).

Writers nominated for their work include Kristoffer Diaz (The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity), Michael Golamco (Year Zero), Andrew Hinderaker (Suicide, Incorporated), Jim Lynch (The Tallest Man), Bruce Norris (A Parallelogram), David Schwimmer and Andy Bellin (Trust), and Craig Wright (Mistakes Were Made).

Nominated directors include Jim Corti (Cabaret and Oh Coward!), David Cromer (A Streetcar Named Desire), Sean Graney (The Mystery of Irma Vep), Tina Landau (The Brother/Sister Plays), Rachel Rockwell (Ragtime), Edward Torres (The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity), and Henry Wishcamper (Animal Crackers).

For a full list of nominations, visit


Tagged in this Story