TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Photo Flash

The Go-Go's Take Over Head Over Heels During Special Curtain-Call Encore

Original band members Charlotte Caffey, Belinda Carlisle, Kathy Valentine, and Jane Wiedlin take the stage for an extravaganza.

The Go-Go's member Jane Wiedlin dances with Head Over Heels cast member Peppermint during a special grand finale.
(© Janie Willison)

The four original members of the Go-Go's — Charlotte Caffey, Belinda Carlisle, Kathy Valentine, and Jane Wiedlin — took the stage at the Hudson Theatre on Thursday, July 12, for a special encore after that night's performance of Head Over Heels.

Based on Sir Philip Sidney's The Arcadia and using the songs of the Go-Go's, Head Over Heels is described as "an unpredictable, Elizabethan romp about a royal family that must prevent an oracle's prophecy of doom. In order to save their beloved kingdom, the family embarks on an extravagant journey wrought with mistaken identities, jealous lovers, sexual awakening, scandal and self-discovery, where everything (and everyone) is not quite what it seems."


Under the direction of Michael Mayer, Head Over Heels features musical supervision, orchestrations, and arrangements by Tom Kitt and choreography by Spencer Liff. The musical features an original book by Jeff Whitty and is adapted by James Magruder. The creative team also includes Julian Crouch (scenic and puppet design), Arianne Phillips (costume design), Kevin Adams (lighting design), Kai Harada (sound design), and Andrew Lazarow (projections design), with Kimberly Grigsby as musical director and Lisa Iacucci as production stage manager.

The principal cast features Andrew Durand (Spring Awakening), Taylor Iman Jones (Groundhog Day), Jeremy Kushnier, Bonnie Milligan, Tom Alan Robbins (The Lion King), Alexandra Socha (Spring Awakening), and Rachel York (Disaster!). Also part of the cast is Peppermint, the RuPaul's Drag Race star who will be the first trans woman to create a principal role on Broadway with this production. The ensemble includes Sharon Catherine Brown, Yurel Echezarreta, Lisa Finegold, Brian Flores, Ari Groover, Tanya Haglund, Arica Jackson, Gregory Liles, Gavin Lodge, Samantha Pollino, Justin Prescott, Tanner Ray Wilson, and Ricardo Zayas.


Tagged in this Story