TheaterMania Logo
Home link

School of Rock Releases New Song Ahead of Deluxe Edition Cast Recording

In addition, the Andrew Lloyd Webber musical will host a special dinner party to celebrate its third year on Broadway.

Andrew Lloyd Webber's School of Rock has announced that Warner Bros. Records will release the original cast recording as a deluxe edition on November 30. To celebrate, a new song and music video, "School of Rock — The Musical (Medley)," has been released, which features a medley of "Teacher's Pet," "Stick It to the Man," and "When I Climb to the Top of Mount Rock" arranged and produced by Kurt Hugo Schneider. Check out the video, featuring VINCINT and Kirsten Collins, below:

In addition, School of Rock announced that it will celebrate its third year on Broadway by kicking off its anniversary week with a special "Fan Appreciation Day" dinner party inside the Winter Garden Theatre on Sunday, December 2.

A limited number of fans will be invited to have pizza and cake with the cast of the muiscal from 5:30 to 6:15pm inside the theater before that evening's 7pm performance. To be eligible for this preshow dinner party, fans should purchase tickets using the code SRFAN1202 for special $65 orchestra and front mezzanine seats. Once purchased with the code, patrons will receive a message informing them if they've been selected to attend the celebration. For patrons who have already purchased tickets for that performance, the producers suggest messaging School of Rock through its social media channels, as there may be an opportunity to be entered to win access to the party as well.

Based on the hit 2003 film, School of Rock tells the story of a down-on-his-luck wannabe rock star named Dewey Finn who poses as a substitute teacher at a prep school and enlists his fifth graders to form a rock group and conquer the Battle of the Bands.

The current Broadway cast includes Justin Collette as Dewey, Mamie Parris as Rosalie, Jonathan Gould as Ned, Lori Eve Marinacci as Patty, Conner John Gillooly as Dewey Alternate, Matthew Jost as Zack, Levi Buksbazen as Freddy, Montgomery Lamb as Katie, Jordan Cole as Lawrence, Ava Briglia as Summer, Hudson Loverro as Billy, and Layla Capers as Tomika. The adult ensemble includes Matt Bittner, Badia Farha, Alan H. Green, Kara Haller, Lizzie Klemperer, Andrew Kober, Cassie Okenka, Patrick O'Neill, Diane Phelan, Jesse Swimm, Joel Waggoner, Jonathan Wagner, Jeremy Woodard, and J. Michael Zygo. The kids' ensemble includes Caroline Basu, Duke Cutler, Darrow Golub, Katie Greendorfer, Madison Elizabeth Lagares, Madalen Yarbrough Mills, Nirvaan Pal, Theodora Silverman, Mikey Sohn, and Sarah Walsh.

Directed by Laurence Connor, the musical features a score by Lloyd Webber and Glenn Slater and a book by Downton Abbey creator Julian Fellowes. The creative team also features choreography by JoAnn M. Hunter, scenic and costume design by Anna Louizos, lighting design by Natasha Katz, sound design by Mick Potter, comedy direction by Cal McCrystal, and music supervision by Ethan Popp.

As previously announced, School of Rock is set to end its run at the Winter Garden Theatre on January 20, 2019, after 31 previews and 1,307 regular performances.