TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Laura Benanti and Javier Muñoz to Announce 2017 Drama Desk Award Nominations

Michael Urie will host the ceremony at Town Hall.

Laura Benanti and Javier Muñoz will announce the 2017 Drama Desk Award nominations.
(photos provided by the Drama Desk Awards)

Nominations for the 62nd Annual Drama Desk Awards will be announced by Laura Benanti (She Loves Me) and Javier Muñoz (Hamilton), the organization has announced. The list of nominees will be revealed on Thursday, April 27, at Feinstein's/54 Below and will be streamed live on TheaterMania.

Michael Urie (Buyer and Cellar), a past host and two-time Drama Desk Award winner himself, will return to emcee the event, which is set to take place on Sunday, June 4, at Town Hall. For the sixth consecutive year, TheaterMania will present the ceremony.

"It is an honor to have Laura Benanti and Javier Muñoz announce this year's Drama Desk nominations," said Gretchen Shugart, managing executive producer of the Drama Desk Awards, in a statement. "Unique, gifted, and gracious…these creative individuals are excellent representatives of the New York theater community."

The Drama Desk Awards are an annual celebration of the best of Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway talent. Each year, the Drama Desk's voters select winners from the pool of artists nominated in each of its 30 categories. Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show, which will be written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Mark Waldrop.

For more information about the 2017 Drama Desk Awards, click here.