TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Audra McDonald and Will Swenson to Host 2017 Drama League Awards

The event will honor Bette Midler and others. logo
Will Swenson and Audra McDonald will host this year's Drama League Awards.
(© David Gordon)

Broadway favorites Audra McDonald and Will Swenson will host the 83rd Annual Drama League Awards, set to take place May 19 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel.

At the ceremony, Hello, Dolly! star Midler will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award, Bill Berloni will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award, and Dear Evan Hansen director Michael Greif will receive the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

These Special Recognition Honors are in addition to the five competitive categories. The 2017 Drama League nominees for Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the Distinguished Performance Award will be announced April 19 at 11am at Sardi's Restaurant by Patina Miller and Bebe Neuwirth.

First awarded in 1922, the Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by both industry professionals and audience members together. The Drama League Awards recognize distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements.

For tickets and more information, click here.