TheaterMania Logo
Home link

2015 Fred and Adele Astaire Award Nominations Announced

The annual dance awards for Broadway theater make way for their latest honorees.

An American in Paris stars Robert Fairchild and Leanne Cope are among the nominees for the 2015 Fred and Adele Astaire Awards.
(© Angela Sterling Photography)

Nominations have been announced for the 2015 Fred and Adele Astaire Awards. Established in 1982, formerly known as The Astaire Awards, recognizes outstanding achievement in dance on Broadway each season. The award was established with the cooperation of Fred Astaire to honor him and his sister, Adele, who starred with her brother in ten Broadway musicals between 1917 and 1931. The awards remain the gold standard for excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway. Since 1982, additional awards have been added to the lineup, including an award for choreography in film, a lifetime achievement award, and a unique award determined annually for exceptional contribution to the field. The nominations can be read below.

Note that hyperlinked shows are currently running.

Best Female Dancer:

Annaleigh Ashford — You Can't Take It With You
Leanne Cope — An American in Paris
Jill Paice — An American in Paris
Megan Fairchild — On the Town
Erin Davie — Side Show
Emily Padgett — Side Show
XiaoChuan Xie — The King and I
Melanie Moore — Finding Neverland

Best Male Dancer:

Robert Fairchild — An American in Paris
Clyde Alves — On the Town
Tony Yazbeck — On the Town
Jay Armstrong Johnson — On the Town
Phillip Attmore — On the Twentieth Century
Rick Faugno — On the Twentieth Century
Drew King — On the Twentieth Century
Richard Riaz Yoder — On the Twentieth Century
Christian Borle — Something Rotten!
Alex Sharp — The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best Choreographer:

Christopher Wheeldon — An American in Paris
Joshua Bergasse — On the Town
Christopher Gattelli — The King and I
Warren Carlyle — On the Twentieth Century
Casey Nicholaw — Something Rotten!
Scott Graham & Steven Hoggett for Frantic Assembly — The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Steven Hoggett — The Last Ship
Mia Michaels — Finding Neverland

The 33rd Annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards, which recognizes outstanding achievement in dance on stage and on screen, will also honor Broadway legend Joel Grey (Cabaret) and film producer Harvey Weinstein (Finding Neverland).

The Astaire Awards will be presented in a ceremony at the NYU Skirball Center on Monday, June 1.