TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Director Diane Paulus Receives Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence

Actress Cherry Jones will be the guest of honor at the awards ceremony event. logo
Diane Paulus receives the Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence.
(© David Gordon)

Today, the Boston Theater Critics Association announced its two dozen nominations of outstanding actors, directors, designers, and ensembles, with winners to be revealed at the 35th Annual Elliot Norton Awards: Alternative Acts on May 15 at Huntington Theatre Company.

This year's recipient of the Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence is Diane Paulus, the Terrie and Bradley Bloom artistic director of the American Repertory Theater at Harvard University. Two-time Tony Award-winning actress Cherry Jones, who last appeared on Broadway in a production of The Glass Menagerie that originated at American Repertory Theater, will be the guest of honor at the event.

The 35th annual Elliot Norton Awards will feature the theme Alternative Acts, celebrating the Boston area's theater community, future artists, and the importance of the arts in our country. The ceremony will feature musical performances by nominees and the Boston Arts Academy, the awarding of the Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence, surprise appearances, and a post-ceremony party. A portion of the evening's proceeds will be donated to the Boston Arts Academy to support the region's next generation of artists.

Awards for visiting productions, actor, and actress will be announced on May 15. There are no nominees in those categories this year.

For tickets and more information, click here.


Tagged in this Story