Girl(s)' Night Out
2006 Tony Awards Presented; History B...

Top of the World

Theatre World Award winners present and past, from Harry Connick, Jr. to Liza Minnelli, were on hand at Studio 54 for the 62nd annual ceremony.

By New York City
Every year since 1944, the Theatre World Awards have recognized outstanding New York debut performances. This year's ceremony was held at Studio 54 on Tuesday, June 6. The honorees: Harry Connick, Jr., The Pajama Game; Felicia P. Fields, The Color Purple; Maria Friedman, The Woman in White; Richard Griffiths, The History Boys; Mamie Gummer, Mr. Marmalade; Jayne Houdyshell, Well; Bob Martin, The Drowsy Chaperone; Ian McDiarmid, Faith Healer; Nellie McKay, The Threepenny Opera; David Wilmot, The Lieutenant of Inishmore; Elisabeth Withers-Mendes, The Color Purple; and John Lloyd Young, Jersey Boys. The tropies were presented by 12 winners from previous years, and the ceremony ended with all of the honorees and the audience singing "Happy Birthday" to John Willis, who co-founded the Theatre World Awards with Daniel Blum.

comments powered by Disqus

By providing information about entertainment and cultural events on this site, shall not be deemed to endorse,
recommend, approve and/or guarantee such events, or any facts, views, advice and/or information contained therein.

©1999-2014, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy