Sherie Rene Scott's Everyday Rapture...
33 Variations to Now Close on May...

Legally Blonde Leads Winners of Touring Broadway Awards

By New York City
A scene from Legally Blonde the Musical
(© Joan Marcus)
A scene from Legally Blonde the Musical
(© Joan Marcus)
Legally Blonde the Musical leads the winners of the 2009 Touring Broadway Awards, which were announced today by Seth Rudetsky at a ceremony in Manhattan. The show won for Best New Touring Musical, Best Design (David Rockwell, set; Gregg Barnes, costumes; Kenneth Posner, lighting); and Best choreography for Jerry Mitchell.

Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater won for their score to Spring Awakening, as did Michael Mayer, for directing that production. Peter Morgan's Frost/Nixon took the award for Best Touring Play, while Wicked won for both Best Long-Running Touring Musical and the Audience Choice Award.

The Touring Broadway Achievement Award was given to Bill Miller, while Colleen Jennings-Roggensack won for Outstanding Achievement in Presenter Management; Michael Kilgore won for Outstanding Achievement in Road Marketing; and Alecia Parker received the 2009 Distinguished Lifetime Service Award.

For more information, visit

comments powered by Disqus

By providing information about entertainment and cultural events on this site, shall not be deemed to endorse,
recommend, approve and/or guarantee such events, or any facts, views, advice and/or information contained therein.

©1999-2014, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy