The Drama League Awards will be held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square on May 16.
(courtesy of The Drama League)

The Drama League has announced that the 80th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony will take place on May 16 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square. Tickets for the event include pre-event cocktails and the afternoon luncheon ceremony.

The event will end a month-long celebration which begins with the 2014 eligibility cut-off date on April 20 followed by the nominee announcement for Distinguished Play, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Musical, and Distinguished Performance Award on April 23 at Sardi's.

The Drama League Awards were first awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935. They are described as the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members. Those audience members are Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

The Drama League is an organization that is "dedicated to creating transformative interactions between artists and audiences…above and beyond the performances they experience." They aim to help with the development of artists and to improve the quality of new work for the stage.

For tickets and more information, click here.