Melissa Errico's Legrand Adventure
Film of Stratford Shakespeare Festival's...

Black Theatre Alliance Award Winners Announced

By Chicago
Darren Canady
Darren Canady
The winners of the 2011 Black Theater Alliance/Ira Aldridge Awards have been announced, according to a report in The Chicago Sun-Times. The prizes were presented in a ceremony held on October 24 at the Illinois Institute of Technology.

The most honored production is Darren Canady's Brothers of the Dust. The piece, produced by Congo Square Theatre, has received awards for director Daniel Bryant; leading actor James T. Alfred; leading actress Shanesia Davis; featured actor Austin Talley, and sound designer Rick Sims.

Both Brothers of the Dust and Darlette McAlpin's Field of Souls, produced by eta Creative Arts Foundation, have been named Best Play.

In musical categories, Lilli-Anne Brown has been named Best Director for her staging of Heidi Rodewald and Stew's Passing Strange. In addition, the production has received honors for leading actor Jayson Brooks and featured actor Osiris Khepera.

Among the other award winners are Ronald K. Brown, Wardell Julius Clark, Casey Diers, Christina Harper, Katrina V. Miller, Shaun Renfro, Michael Alan Stein, and Celeste Williams.

For more information, click here.

comments powered by Disqus

By providing information about entertainment and cultural events on this site, shall not be deemed to endorse,
recommend, approve and/or guarantee such events, or any facts, views, advice and/or information contained therein.

©1999-2014, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy