TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Stacy Keach, Alice Ripley, Chita Rivera, Aaron Tveit, and More Receive Helen Hayes Awards

Chita Rivera and George Hearn in The Visit
(© Scott Suchman)
The 2009 Helen Hayes Awards, honoring outstanding work in Washington DC area professional theatres, were presented in a live ceremony on Monday, April 13.

Arena Stage's production of the musical Next to Normal, now on Broadway, was named Outstanding Non-Resident Production. The award for Outstanding Resident Musical went to Signature Theatre's revival of Les Miserables, while Outstanding Resident Play was given to both Studio Theatre's Blackbird and Shakespeare Theatre Company's Twelfth Night.

Among the many acting winners were Stacy Keach (Frost/Nixon), David Margulies (The Happy Time), Alice Ripley (Next to Normal), Nilaja Sun (No Child ...), Natascia Diaz (ROOMS a Rock Romance), Chita Rivera (The Visit), Helen Carey (Major Barbara), and Aaron Tveit (Next to Normal).

For a full list of nominees and winner, visit