29th Annual Elliot Norton Awards

About This Show

Recognizing excellence in Greater Boston Theater, the Elliot Norton Awards are named in honor of the distinguished Boston theater critic Elliot Norton, who for many years was an engaged supporter of the theater, both locally and nationally. Presented by The Boston Theater Critics Association, The Norton Medal was first bestowed in 1983. Since then, the awards have grown to include, in addition to the Prize for Sustained Excellence, almost two dozen awards presented annually to outstanding productions, performers, directors, and designers.

The event has become a memorable evening, attended over the years by such luminaries as Julie Harris, Elaine Stritch, Irene Worth, and Al Pacino. Starlight aside, it is treasured for the atmosphere of camaraderie it generates in the theater community.

The Boston Theater Critics Association is proud to have been part of the remarkable growth, over the past 30 years, of exemplary theater in Boston. This year’s selection committee comprises Don Aucoin, Jared Bowen, Terry Byrne, Carolyn Clay, Iris Fanger, Louise Kennedy, Joyce Kulhawik, Sandy MacDonald, Robert Nesti, Jenna Scherer, Ed Siegel and Caldwell Titcomb.

Show Details

Running Time: 1hr 50min (0 intermissions)
Dates: One Night Only: May 23, 2011