TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Theatre Puget Sound Announces 2016 Gregory Award Winners

The Seattle theater awards celebrated its eighth year.

Pamela Reed won the Gregory Award for Outstanding Actress in a Play for her performance in Luna Gale at Seattle Repertory Theatre.
(© Alan V. Alabastro)

Theatre Puget Sound celebrated the eighth annual Gregory Awards last night at Marion Oliver McCaw Hall in Seattle. The awards, celebrating theater artists in the Puget Sound region, featured 85 nominees in 18 categories in performance, design, production, and more.

Veteran Seattle actors Bhama Roget and Kate Jaeger cohosted the event, with Seattle-based Michael Owcharuk leading the band, and Sara Porkalob joining as special guest artist.

The first award presented was the Melissa Hines Backstage Award, which honors stage managers, development directors, PR managers, venue managers, stage hands, board members, house managers, shop foremen, volunteers, and other individuals who contribute to the theater from behind the scenes. The 2016 award went to Kyna Shilling, production manager and technical director for Seattle Public Theater since 2007. She is also a teacher of stage management, lighting design, sound design, properties design, scenic painting, and stagecraft.

The Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award was then shared by costume artisans Connie Rinchiuso and Carolyn Keim. Accepting the award on behalf of the longtime collaborators, Rinchiuso said, "We loved plays. We love collaboration. And costumes were our way in."

For the complete list of Gregory Award nominees and winners, click here.