TheaterMania Logo
Home link

New Group Hurlyburly Reading to Reunite Ethan Hawke, Parker Posey, and 2005 Revival Cast

Bobby Cannavale and Wallace Shawn will also take part in the evening.

Ethan Hawke as Eddie and Parker Posey as Darlene in Scott Elliott's 2005 revival of David Rabe's Hurlyburly.
(© photo courtesy of the production)

The stars of the New Group's acclaimed 2005 revival of David Rabe's Hurlyburly will reunite for a one-night-only reading of the drama, set to take place Sunday, April 26, at the Pershing Square Signature Center.

Directed by New Group artistic leader Scott Elliott, the reading will feature Bobby Cannavale (Phil), Josh Hamilton (Mickey), Ethan Hawke (Eddie), Parker Posey (Darlene), and Wallace Shawn (Artie). Casting for the roles of Bonnie and Donna, originated in the 2005 production by Catherine Kellner and Halley Wegryn Gross, will be announced in the coming weeks.

Hurlyburly depicts the addled lives of four Los Angeles men caught in love-hate relationships with Hollywood women, in a brutally comic reflection on the decade of decadence in the cocaine-and-sex infused Hollywood Hills in the mid-1980s. The New Group production received five Lucille Lortel Award nominations, winning one for Parker Posey in the Outstanding Featured Actress category, and four Drama Desk Award nominations, including Outstanding Revival.

The drama originally opened off-Broadway in 1984 before transferring to Broadway, receiving four 1985 Tony nominations and winning one for Judith Ivey in the Best Featured Actress in a Play category.

The event is part of the New Group's 20th Anniversary season.