TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Stars of Eclipsed, Dear Evan Hansen, and More at 2016 Obie Awards

The honors celebrate the best of off-Broadway theater.

Pascale Armand, Akosua Busia, Lupita Nyong'o, Zainab Jah, and Saycon Sengbloh show off their 2016 Obie Awards for Eclipsed.
(© Allison Stock)

The 2016 Obie Award recipients celebrated their honors on Monday, May 23.

The full list is as follows. Hyperlinked titles are still running.


Lucas Hnath, The Christians (Playwrights Horizons) and Red Speedo (New York Theatre Workshop) Stephen Karam, The Humans (Roundabout Theatre Company)

Musical Theater

Steven Levenson (book), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (music and lyrics), Dear Evan Hansen


Rachel Chavkin, The Royale (Lincoln Center Theater)
Michael Leibenluft, I'll Never Love Again (Bushwick Starr)


Khris Davis, The Royale (Lincoln Center Theater)
Emily Donahoe, The Christians (Playwrights Horizons)
Georgia Engel, John (Signature Theatre Company)
Pascale Armand, Akosua Busia, Zainab Jah, Lupita Nyong'o, Saycon Sengbloh, Eclipsed (the Public Theater)
Jayne Houdyshell, The Humans (Roundabout Theatre Company)
Omar Metwally and Arian Moayed, Guards at the Taj (Atlantic Theater Company)
Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen (Second Stage Theatre)
Lucas Caleb Rooney, Red Speedo (New York Theatre Workshop)
Tamara Tunie, Familiar (Playwrights Horizons)


Rachel Hauck, Sustained Excellence of Set Design
Jason Lyons, Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
James Ortiz, Puppet Design, The Woodsman (New World Stages)
Bray Poor, Sustained Excellence of Sound Design
Kaye Voyce, Sustained Excellence of Costume Design

Special Citations: Collaboration

Annie Baker (playwright), Sam Gold (director), and the design team of John (Signature Theatre Company): Mark Barton (lighting), Ásta Bennie Hostetter (costumes), Mimi Lien (set), Noah Mease (props), Bray Poor (sound)

Dominique Morisseau (playwright) and Ruben Santiago-Hudson (director), Skeleton Crew (Atlantic Theater Company)

Obie Grants ($4,000 prize to each theater)

Bedlam Theatre
Noor Theatre
Prospect Theatre Company

The Ross Wetzsteon Award ($3,000 prize)

NAATCO/National Asian American Theatre Company

Best New American Play ($1,000 prize)

Guards at the Taj by Rajiv Joseph (Atlantic Theatre Company)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Carmen de Lavallade
A.R. Gurney