Theater News

UPDATED: Anna Kendrick, Zachary Quinto, Mike Tyson Join Tom Hanks, Scarlett Johansson on 2013 Tony Awards Telecast

Jon Cryer, Cuba Gooding Jr., and Jesse Eisenberg are also set to participate in the ceremony.

Mike Tyson
Mike Tyson
(© David Gordon)

UPDATED — Newly announced to appear on the 2013 Tony Awards telecast are stage and screen veterans Jake Gyllenhaal (If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet), Sigourney Weaver (Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike), Anna Kendrick (High Society), Zachary Quinto (The Glass Menagerie), Sally Field (The Goat, or Who is Sylvia?), Audra McDonald (The Gershwins’ Porgy & Bess), Cyndi Lauper (Kinky Boots), Alan Cumming (Macbeth), Jesse Tyler Ferguson (The Comedy of Errors), Megan Hilty (Smash), Andrew Rannells (The Book of Morman), Jane Krakowski (30 Rock), Matthew Morrison (Glee), Laura Benanti (Gypsy), Steven Van Zandt (The Sopranos), Barrett Foa (NCIS: Los Angeles), Mike Tyson (Undisputed Truth), director Hal Prince (The Phantom of the Opera), and composer Andrew Lloyd Webber (Cats).

May 29 — The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards have announced that nominee Tom Hanks (Lucky Guy), Jesse Eisenberg (The Revisionist), Scarlett Johansson (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof), Jon Cryer (Brighton Beach Memoirs), Cuba Gooding Jr. (The Trip to Bountiful), and Martha Plimpton (Pal Joey) will all present awards at this year’s Tony Awards ceremony on June 9.

As previously announced, the event will be hosted by Broadway favorite Neil Patrick Harris and broadcast live on CBS. The awards, which honor excellence in Broadway theater, are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.