Theater News

The 2018 Drama Desk Awards Will Be Presented This Sunday

Michael Urie hosts the ceremony live at Town Hall.

Michael Urie hosts the Drama Desk Awards for the third consecutive season.
Michael Urie hosts the Drama Desk Awards for the third consecutive season.
(© David Gordon)

The 63rd annual Drama Desk Awards will be presented this Sunday, June 3, at Town Hall. The ceremony will be hosted for the third consecutive year by two-time Drama Desk winner Michael Urie.

Presenters will include Andy Blankenbuehler (Hamilton), Jenn Colella (Come From Away), Jane Greenwood (The Little Foxes), Stephen McKinley Henderson (A Raisin in the Sun), Bill Irwin (The Iceman Cometh), Andy Karl (Groundhog Day), Mimi Lien (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Brian Stokes Mitchell (Shuffle Along), Orfeh (Pretty Woman: The Musical), Ruben Santiago-Hudson (Paradise Blue), Saycon Sengbloh (Eclipsed), and Mary Testa (The Government Inspector).

Gizel Jiménez will perform "Sundays" from Miss You Like Hell, Lindsay Mendez and Alexander Gemignani will perform "When the Children Are Asleep" from Carousel, and Ashley Park will perform "Bung Uh Ree Sae (Mute Bird)" from KPOP. In addition, Karen Ziemba will perform during the In Memoriam segment, and Mean Girls's Grey Henson and Barrett Wilbert Weed will explain the Rules.

This year's nominees were selected from the 2017-18 season of Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway productions. The Broadway revival of Carousel topped the list with 12 nominations, closely followed by SpongeBob SquarePants with 11 and Mean Girls with 10. Special award recipients are Sean Carvajal and Edi Gathegi of Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train; Juan Castano of Oedipus El Rey, A Parallelogram, and Transfers; and the ensemble of Jocelyn Bioh's School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play.

For the seventh consecutive year, TheaterMania will present the awards ceremony, with Joey Parnes Productions producing and managing the show.