Theater News

Shattered Globe Theatre Presents In the Heat of the Night

Matt Pelfrey’s new adaptation begins performances this evening.

Joseph Wiens, Manny Buckley and Drew Schad in a publicity image for Shattered Globe Theatre's production of In the Heat of the Night, which begins tonight.
Joseph Wiens, Manny Buckley, and Drew Schad in Shattered Globe Theatre’s production of In the Heat of the Night, which begins tonight.
(© Joe Martinez Jr.)

In the Heat of the Night starts its run tonight at Shattered Globe Theatre.

Set in Argo, Alabama, in 1965, the show begins with the discovery of the body of a dead white man. In the racially hostile Southern town, a black man passing through fits the police department’s need for a suspect and motive. Unfortunately for them, they discover that the man is an expert homicide detective from L.A. In an attempt to solve the crime, the two sides must work together, which brings personal prejudices to a boiling point. Fifty years after the book’s publication, this new adaptation asks: how far have we come?

Pelfrey’s adaptation is based on the novel by John Ball, and the production is helmed by Louis Contey. The cast features Christina Gorman as Melanie Tatum, Steve Peebles as Coroner/Mayor Schubert/Ralph/Klan 2, Drew Schad as Sam Wood, Angie Shriner as Noreen Purdy, Joseph Wiens as Chief Gillespie, Brad Woodard as Harvey Oberst/Purdy/Klan 1, Manny Buckley as Virgil Tibbs, Glenn Fahlstrom as George Endicott/Al Jennings, Tim Newell as Charles Tatum/Eric Kaufman, and Brian Scannell as Pete/Man in Shadows/Klan 3.

The creative team includes Joe Schermoly (set design), Sarah Jo White (costume design), Michael Stanfill (lighting design), Chris Kriz (sound design), Vivian Knouse (props master), Christina Gorman (fight choreographer), Eva Breneman (dialect coach), Kelsey Melvin (dramaturg), and Heather Timmerman Bannon (stage manager).

Performances will run through June 5.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story

In the Heat of the Night

Closed: June 4, 2016