Theater News

Kermit the Frog and More to Honor Steve Martin at 2017 Drama League Gala

The event will take place November 6.

Steve Martin will be honored by the Drama League.
Steve Martin will be honored by the Drama League.
(© David Gordon)

The lineup is announced for the the Drama League's 34th annual gala, subtitled A Musical Celebration of Broadway, honoring Meteor Shower and Bright Star scribe Steve Martin. The event will take place at the Plaza Hotel on November 6.

The black-tie gala will feature dozens of stars from Hollywood and Broadway in a one-night-only musical tribute to help raise funds for the Drama League’s educational initiatives for promising young artists. The current list of performers includes Carol Kane, Ed Helms, Kermit the Frog, Alex Brightman, Lea DeLaria, Jennifer Simard, and Lauren Worsham.

The creative team will be made up of Samantha Saltzman (director), Timothy Huang (writer), Billy Griffin (choreographer), David Evans (music director), Nick Kolin (lighting), Michael Tracey (sound), and Whitney Locher (costumes).

Martin is the recipient of an Academy Award, five Grammys, the Mark Twain Award, a Kennedy Center Honor, and Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle Awards. As an actor, he has been seen in films including Father of the Bride to Roxanne.

The Drama League of New York, founded in 1916, is one of the nation's oldest continuously operating not-for-profit arts advocacy and education organizations. Through its programs, initiatives, and events, the Drama League serves over 3,000 artists and 15,000 audience members each season with over 150 events and programs.

For tickets and more information, click here.