Music News

Florence Welch, Tori Amos, Sia, and More Featured on Here Lies Love Remix Album

David Byrne and Fatboy Slim’s musical gets a new album.

Ruthie Ann Miles as Imelda Marcos with the cast of Here Lies Love, directed by Alex Timbers, at the Public Theater.

The record label Todomundo! is set to release The Remix Collection From Here Lies Love, a collection of reimaginings of David Byrne and Fatboy Slim's songs as heard on the original concept album of the hit off-Broadway musical. Proceeds from the September 30 release will be donated to Gawad Kalinga, a charity dedicated to providing typhoon relief and ending poverty in the Philippines for 5 million families by 2024.

The list of performers on the album, mixed by Matt Stine and Justin Levine, includes Santigold, Florence Welch (Florence & The Machine), Sia, Steve Earle, St. Vincent, Natalie Merchant, Tori Amos, Sharon Jones, and Nicole Atkins. The original two-disc off-Broadway cast recording of Here Lies Love was released by Nonesuch Records on April 22.

Here Lies Love, the recipient of Obie, Outer Critics Circle, Drama Desk, and Theatre World Awards, returned to The Public Theater's LuEsther Hall in April. Under the direction of Alex Timbers, the environmental musical, which follows the life of Filipina First Lady Imelda Marcos, first played at the Public in April 2013.

Ruthie Ann Miles leads the company as Imelda Marcos, with Jose Llana as Ferdinand Marcos and Conrad Ricamora as Ninoy Aquino. Also included on the album are Renee Albulario, Melody Butiu, Natalie Cortez, Debralee Daco, Joshua Dela Cruz, Kelvin Moon Loh, Jeigh Madjus, Maria-Christina Oliveras, Trevor Salter, and Janelle Velasquez.

Click here to preorder the album.

For tickets to Here Lies Love, click here.

Featured In This Story