Theater News

Zachary Levi and Vanessa Williams to Perform at the 22nd Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala

Previously announced participants include Broadway veterans Sierra Boggess, Liz Callaway, and Beth Fowler.

Zachary Levi
Zachary Levi
(© David Gordon)

The York Theatre Company has announced that Broadway stars Zachary Levi (First Date) and Vanessa Williams (The Trip to Bountiful) have been added to the roster of stars who will participate in the 22nd Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala, to be held December 9 at The Hudson Theatre.

The event will honor legendary Broadway and film composer Alan Menken with the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre. Also performing will be Broadway stars Sierra Boggess, Liz Callaway, Beth Fowler, Debbie Gravitte, and composer/lyricist Stephen Schwartz. Alice Hammerstein Mathias and Bernadette Peters will make special appearances, and Norm Lewis will host. The event will be directed and produced by Scott H. Mauro/Scott Mauro Entertainment, Inc.

The evening will also include the presentation of The York Theatre Company Founder's Award to York chairman of the board W. David McCoy to honor his significant long-term contributions to the theater and his lifelong commitment to sustaining the arts.