TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Viola Davis, Lynn Nottage, Anika Noni Rose, et al. Set for November 8 Steinberg Award Ceremony logo
Anika Noni Rose
(© Tristan Fuge)
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Viola Davis, Kimberly Hébert Gregory, Russell Hornsby, Condola Rashad, and Anika Noni Rose will perform at the Steinberg Award ceremony at Lincoln Center's Vivian Beaumont Theater on Monday, November 8. The event is not open to the public.

As previously reported, playwright Lynn Nottage is the 2010 recipient of the Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, presented by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust. The Steinberg Award, which comes with a cash prize of $200,000, honors the artistic achievement of an American playwright whose body of work has made significant contributions to the American theater.

The actors will perform scenes highlighting Nottage's work, including selections from Ruined, for which she won the Pulitzer Prize, Intimate Apparel, and a preview of her upcoming By The Way, Meet Vera Stark.


Tagged in this Story