TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

The Theatre Museum to Hold Awards Ceremony at The Players Club

The Theatre Museum will hold its first annual awards ceremony on Monday, September 27, 2004 at The Players Club, a private theater club founded by legendary actor Edwin Booth, located at 16 Gramercy Park South. The museum is carrying on the tradition, established in 1995 by the Broadway Theatre Institute, of honoring individuals and organizations that play a major role in shaping the presence of theater.

Still in the planning stages, The Theatre Museum is a project helmed by Helen Guditis, with Stewart Lane as chair. The goal is to create an interactive theater museum in New York City. A design for the building already exists, although the location has not yet been determined.

An opening reception and tour of The Players Club will begin at 6pm on September 27 and the ceremony will commence at 7:30pm. The honorees are as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Betty Comden, lyricist (award to be presented by Wendy Wasserstein)

Theater Arts in Education Award
F.H. LaGuardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts

Distinguished Service to the Theater Award
The Princess Grace Foundation

Special Theater Museum Award
100th Anniversary of Times Square

Theater History Preservation Award
Dodger Costumes, for rescuing the centuries-old Eaves-Brooks Costumes company (award to be presented by William Ivey Long).

Individual tickets for the event are priced a $125, and $70 of each ticket is tax deductible. To order tickets, phone 212-764-4112 ext. 202; for more information, phone the awards ceremony office at the same number, ext. 203.

Tagged in this Story