TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Michael Shannon, Leslye Headland, and More Join The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway

The 17th annual event will take place at the American Airlines Theatre on October 30. logo
Michael Shannon has signed on for this year's edition of The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway.
(© David Gordon)

A second round of participants has been announced for the 17th annual edition of The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway, set for October 30 at the American Airlines Theatre.

Michael Shannon, Rachel Dratch, Ebon Moss-Bachrach, Paul Sparks, Annie Parisse, Carolyn Cantor, and Leslye Headland are the latest to sign on to the event, which brings together professionals from across the entertainment industry to write, direct, and perform original short plays within 24 hours. They join previously announced cast members Raul Castillo, Josh Charles, Jackie Cruz, Jennifer Esposito, Noah Galvin, Stephen Adly Guirgis, Nina Hellman, Cush Jumbo, Mia Katigbak, Lola Kirke, Russell G. Jones, Orlando Pabotoy, Christina Ricci, Kyra Sedgwick, Jeremy Shamos, Jonathan Marc Sherman, Justice Smith, Lois Smith, Nico Tortorella, and Yul Vasquez.

The directing team will include May Adrales, Warren Leight, Patricia McGregor, Jessica Stone, and Kate Whoriskey. The writing team will include Fernanda Coppel, Chisa Hutchinson, David Lindsay-Abaire, Martyna Majok, and Molly Smith Metzler. This year's musical guest is Shaina Taub.

As previously announced, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Marsha Norman will be honored as part of the organization's partnership with the Lilly Awards. Norman is one of the cofounders of the Lilly Awards, which honor the extraordinary contributions made to the American theater by women.

Proceeds from the event will benefit the 24 Hour Plays programming, including the 24 Hour Plays: Nationals (a professional intensive for young artists) and the Lilly Awards Foundation's work supporting women in theater and promoting gender parity.

For tickets and more information, click here.


Tagged in this Story