TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Kamilah Forbes, Lynn Nottage to Be Honored by League of Professional Theatre Women logo
Lynn Nottage
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The League of Professional Theatre Women will honor Kamilah Forbes and Lynn Nottage at the organization's awards luncheon, to be held at Sardi's on Thursday, December 9 at Noon.

Forbes will receive the 2010 Josephine Abady Award, given to an early- or mid-career director or producer of a work of cultural diversity. Forbes is is artistic director of the annual Hip-Hop Theatre Festival.

Nottage will receive the 2010 Lee Reynolds Award, given annually to a woman or women active in any aspect of theatre whose work for, in, about, or through the medium of theatre has helped to illuminate the possibilities for social, cultural, or political change. Nottage's plays include the Pulitzer Prize-winning Ruined, as well as Intimate Apparel, Fabulation, Crumbs From the Table of Joy, and her newest, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark, which will premiere next year at Second Stage Theatre.

The recipient of the organization's Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced at a later date.

Tickets to the awards luncheon are $65, and can be purchased by calling 800-838-3006.

Tagged in this Story