TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Hugh Dancy, Judith Ivey, Laurie Metcalf, Lynn Redgrave, Michael Urie et al. Receive Lucille Lortel Nominations logo
Hugh Dancy in The Pride
(© Joan Marcus)
The nominations for the Lucille Lortel Awards, honoring outstanding achievement Off-Broadway, have been announced. The awards, now in their 25th year, will be presented at a ceremony at Terminal 5 (610 West 56th Street) on Sunday, May 2, beginning at 6pm.

The Roundabout's production of The Glass Menagerie, MCC Theater's The Pride, and Lincoln Center's When the Rain Stops Falling, each received six nominations, the most of any individual production.

Among the notable acting nominees are Keith Carradine, Hugh Dancy, Mary Beth Hurt, Judith Ivey, Laurie Metcalf, Lynn Redgrave, Sherie Rene Scott, and Michael Urie.

Daryl Roth will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Lincoln Center Theater will receive the Body of Work Award.

A full list of nominees follows:

Outstanding Play

Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris
The Brother/Sister Plays by Tarell Alvin McCraney
The Orphans' Home Cycle by Horton Foote
The Temperamentals by Jon Marans
When The Rain Stops Falling by Andrew Bovell

Outstanding Musical

Click, Clack, Moo; Book by Billy Aronson, Lyrics by Kevin Del Aguila, Music by Brad Alexander
Everyday Rapture; Written by Dick Scanlan and Sherie Rene Scott
The Scottsboro Boys; Book by David Thompson, Lyrics and Music by John Kander and Fred Ebb
The Toxic Avenger; Book and Lyrics by Joe DiPietro, Music and Lyrics by David Bryan
Yank! A WWII Love Story; Music by Joseph Zellnik, Book and Lyrics by David Zellnik

Outstanding Solo Show

A Boy and His Soul; Written and performed by Colman Domingo
Let Me Down Easy; Written and performed by Anna Deavere Smith
Nightingale; Written and performed by Lynn Redgrave
The Lady With All the Answers; Written by David Rambo, Performed by Judith Ivey
Zero Hour; Written and performed by Jim Brochu

Outstanding Revival

A Lie of the Mind; The New Group
Candida; The Irish Repertory Theatre
Measure for Measure; Theatre for a New Audience
The Emperor Jones; The Irish Repertory Theatre
The Glass Menagerie; Roundabout Theatre Company

Outstanding Director

Walter Bobbie, Venus in Fur
David Cromer, When the Rain Stops Falling
Gordon Edelstein, The Glass Menagerie
Pam MacKinnon, Clybourne Park
Joe Mantello, The Pride

Outstanding Choreographer

Jeffry Denman, Yank! A WWII Love Story
Ken Roberson, A Boy and His Soul
Wendy Seyb, Click, Clack, Moo
Wendy Seyb, The Toxic Avenger
Susan Stroman, The Scottsboro Boys

Outstanding Lead Actor

Hugh Dancy, The Pride
Patch Darragh, The Glass Menagerie
Brandon Victor Dixon, The Scottsboro Boys
John Douglas Thompson, The Emperor Jones
Michael Urie, The Temperamentals

Outstanding Lead Actress

Nina Arianda, Venus in Fur
Jayne Houdyshell, Coraline
Judith Ivey, The Glass Menagerie
Cristin Milioti, Stunning
Sherie Rene Scott, Everyday Rapture

Outstanding Featured Actor

Keith Carradine, A Lie of the Mind
Adam James, The Pride
David Pittu, Equivocation
Jeremy Shamos, Clybourne Park
C.J. Wilson, Happy Now?

Outstanding Featured Actress

Tracee Chimo, Circle Mirror Transformation
Mary Beth Hurt, When the Rain Stops Falling
Laurie Metcalf, A Lie of the Mind
Nancy Opel, The Toxic Avenger
Andrea Riseborough, The Pride

Outstanding Scenic Design

David Korins, When the Rain Stops Falling
David Korins, Why Torture is Wrong, and the People Who Love Them
Derek McLane, A Lie of the Mind
Michael Yeargan, The Glass Menagerie
David Zinn, The Pride

Outstanding Costume Design

Miranda Hoffman, Stunning
Martin Pakledinaz, The Glass Menagerie
Clint Ramos, So Help Me God!
Ilona Somogyi, Clybourne Park
Anita Yavich, Venus in Fur

Outstanding Lighting Design

Mark Barton, Circle Mirror Transformation
Paul Gallo, The Pride
Peter Kaczorowski, The Brother/Sister Plays
Tyler Micoleau, When the Rain Stops Falling
Rui Rita, The Orphans' Home Cycle

Outstanding Sound Design

Kurt Fischer, The Toxic Avenger
John Gromada, The Orphans' Home Cycle
Fitz Patton, When the Rain Stops Falling
Shane Rettig, A Lie of the Mind
Ryan Rumery and Christian Frederickson, The Emperor Jones

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story