TheaterMania Logo
Home link

The Glass Menagerie's Bob Crowley, Gentleman's Guide's Linda Cho, and More Receive Henry Hewes Design Awards

The awards honor theater artists for outstanding artistry.

Zachary Quinto, Cherry Jones, Brian J. Smith, and Celia Keenan-Bolger in The Glass Menagerie.
(© Michael J. Lutch)

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee has announced the five artists who will be honored during the presentation of its 2014 awards in a luncheon ceremony scheduled for October 6.

Bob Crowley (The Glass Menagerie), Linda Cho (A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder), Justin Townsend (Mr. Burns, a Post-Electric Play), and G. Lucas Crane and Keith Skretch (This Was the End) will be honored with 2014 Henry Hewes Design Awards. For the 2014 honors, 91 theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 59 productions presented during the 2013-2014 New York theater season.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards honor designers for work in venues on Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway, and recognize traditional categories of Scenic Design, Costume Design, and Lighting Design as well as "Notable Effects," which include sound, music, video, puppetry, and other creative elements. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins (chair), Dan Bacalzo, David Barbour, David Cote, Glenda Frank, Mario Fratti, Helen Shaw, Michael Sommers, and Joan Ungaro.

For more information about the awards, click here.