TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Alexi Kaye Campbell's The Pride, Ricky Martin, Scissor Sisters, et al. Win GLAAD Media Awards logo
Hugh Dancy and Ben Whishaw in The Pride
(© Joan Marcus)
The GLAAD Media Awards -- which recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and the issues that affect their lives -- presented awards in the majority of its categories at its New York City ceremony, held at the Marriott Marquis on Saturday, March 19.

As previously reported, Ricky Martin, who will be returning to Broadway next season in Evita, is the recipient of the Vito Russo Award, presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for the LGBT community. Russell Simmons, who produced the Broadway run of Russell Simmons Def Poetry Jam as well as its television incarnation, received GLAAD's Excellence in Media Award.

In competitive categories, Alexi Kaye Campbell received the Outstanding New York Theater: Broadway & Off-Broadway award for his play, The Pride, which was presented Off-Broadway by MCC Theater in a production starring Hugh Dancy, Andrea Riseborough, and Ben Whishaw. Harrison David Rivers won the award for Outstanding New York Theater: Off-Off Broadway for When Last We Flew, while the Outstanding Los Angeles Theater winner is Something Happened by L. Trey Wilson.

HBO's True Blood was named Outstanding Drama Series, with Tony Award winner Denis O'Hare accepting the award on the show's behalf. Meanwhile, Tina Fey accepted the award for Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series without a regular LGBT character) for "Klaus & Greta" on NBC's 30 Rock.

Additional winners included former New York Times chief theater critic Frank Rich (Outstanding Newspaper Columnist); Scissor Sisters for Night Work (Outstanding Music Artist); and The Oprah Winfrey Show for the Outstanding Talk Show Episode, "Ricky Martin Coming Out as a Gay Man and a New Dad."

Additional awards will be presented in Los Angeles on April 10 at the Westin Bonaventure, and in San Francisco on May 14 at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis.

For more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story