TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2001 Outer Critics Circle Award Winners List Includes Three Sets of Ties logo

Ties in the categories of Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Actress in a Musical, and Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical are the most noteworthy aspect of this year's Outer Critics Circle Award winners, announced today. Gore Vidal's The Best Man and One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest split the winning votes right down the middle among the play nominees. Marla Schaffel and Christine Ebersole tied for their performances in Jane Eyre and 42nd Street, respectively, as did Gary Beach and André De Shields for their work in The Producers and The Full Monty.
Robert Sean Leonard and Richard Easton
in The Invention of Love
(Photo: Paul Kolnik)
42nd Street was named Outstanding Revival of a Musical, while Jitney and Bat Boy were cited as the outstanding new Off-Broadway play and musical. There were few major surprises among the other awards, as The Producers and Proof scored heavily, though it was perhaps unexpected that The Invention of Love would win for lead actor Richard Easton, featured actor Robert Sean Leonard, and director Jack O'Brien.

The Outer Critics Circle consists of journalists who write about New York theater for media outlets outside of New York City. The awards, which recognize achievement both on and Off-Broadway, will be presented in a ceremony at Sardi's on May 24. Following is a complete list of this year's winners:

Outstanding Broadway Play:

Outstanding Off-Broadway Play:

Outstanding Revival of a Play:
Gore Vidal's The Best Man, and
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

Outstanding Actor in a Play:
Richard Easton (The Invention of Love)

Outstanding Actress in a Play:
Mary-Louise Parker (Proof)

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play:
Robert Sean Leonard (The Invention of Love)

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play:
Viola Davis (King Hedley II)

Outstanding Director of a Play:
Jack O'Brien (The Invention of Love)

Outstanding Broadway Musical:
The Producers

Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical:
Bat Boy The Musical

Outstanding Revival of a Musical:
42nd Street

Outstanding Actor in a Musical:
Nathan Lane (The Producers)

Outstanding Actress in a Musical:
Christine Ebersole (42nd Street), and
Marla Schaffel (Jane Eyre)

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical:
Gary Beach (The Producers), and
André De Shields (The Full Monty)

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical:
Cady Huffman (The Producers)

Outstanding Director of a Musical:
Susan Stroman (The Producers)

Outstanding Choreography:
Susan Stroman (The Producers)

Outstanding Scenic Design:
Robin Wagner (The Producers)

Outstanding Costume Design:
William Ivey Long (The Producers)

Outstanding Lighting Design:
Brian MacDevitt (The Invention of Love)

Outstanding Solo Performance:
Pamela Gien (The Syringa Tree)

John Gassner Playwriting Award:
David Auburn (Proof)

Special Achievement Awards:
Sean Campion and Conleth Hill of Stones in His Pockets
Reba McEntire of Annie Get Your Gun
The ensemble cast of The Dinner Party (Henry Winkler, John Ritter, Len Cariou, Penny Fuller, Veanne Cox, and Jan Maxwell)


Tagged in this Story