TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Kate Fodor, Marion McClinton et al. to Receive Support from Playwrights' Center logo
Marion McClinton
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Playwright Kate Fodor will receive the Minneapolis-based Playwrights' Center's McKnight National Residency & Commission, a $12,500 Award to be used for the creation and development of new works by nationally recognized playwrights. In addition, Tony nominee Marion McClinton will be honored with the organization's Lifetime Core Writer status.

Fodor is perhaps best known for her play, 100 Saints You Should Know, which received its world premiere Off-Broadway at Playwrights Horizons and was named one of the best plays of the year by Time Out New York, Entertainment Weekly and Theater Yearbook. Her newest play, Rx, will be produced Off-Broadway as part of Primary Stages' upcoming 2011-2012 season.

McClinton received a Tony nomination for his direction of August Wilson's King Hedley II, and additional Main Stem credits include Ma Rainey's Black Bottom and Drowning Crow. He received a Drama Desk nomination for his production of Jitney. He is also the writer of the Kesselring-winning Police Boys and a fixture of the Twin Cities theater community for over three decades. His world premiere adaptation of Toni Morrison's Jazz opens this winter at Centerstage in Baltimore.

In addition to McClinton, this year's additions to the Center's core writers -- consisting of 25 to 30 playwrights from across the country whose work is supported by the Playwrights' Center over a three-year term -- include Christina Anderson, Trista Baldwin, Dan Dietz, Marcus Gardley, Samuel Hunter, Winter Miller, and Qui Nguyen.

The Playwrights' Center will also be granting fellowships or grants to Terry Bellamy, Keli Garrett, Sarah Gubbins, Jessica Huang, Rachel Jendrzejewski, Andrea Jenkins, Gregory Moss Janaki Ranpura, Jerrie Steele Enrique Urueta, and Joe Waechter.

For more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story