TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Hamilton Scores Five Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Nominations

Fun Home's Jeanine Tesori and Lisa Kron, Bright Star's Carmen Cusack, and more are also up for honors.

Hamilton, which played at the Hollywood Pantages Theatre last year, received five nominations from the Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle.
(© Joan Marcus)

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle announced its nominations and special awards in Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ventura County theater for 2017.

Hamilton, which played the Hollywood Pantages Theatre last year, was one of three shows with five nominations this year, earning nods for Production, Direction, Musical Score, Music Direction, and Choreography. 33 Variations at the Actors Co-Op and The House in Scarsdale: A Memoir for the Stage at The Theatre @ Boston Court were the other two most honored shows.

One or more plaques will be presented in each of 18 categories. Lisa Kron has already been voted a Writing (Adaptation) plaque for her Fun Home book. Kron and Jeanine Tesori are also up for Best Musical Score. Other Broadway notables up for honors include Carmen Cusack for her lead performance in Bright Star, Wayne and Karey Kirkpatrick for their Something Rotten! score, and Christopher Wheeldon for his choreography in An American in Paris.

Among the seven special awards to be presented is the Ted Schmitt Award for the world premiere of an outstanding new play, which this year will go to Alessandro Camon for Time Alone, originally produced by Belle Rêve Theatre Co. at the Los Angeles Theatre Center.

The 49th annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle awards ceremony will take place on Monday, March 19, at A Noise Within, with Wenzel Jones once again hosting.

For more information on the 2017 nominees, click here.

For more information on the 2017 special awards, click here.