TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Ian Barford, Martha Lavey, Mariann Mayberry Set for Steppenwolf's The March logo
Ian Barford in publicity image
for The March
(© Sandro)
The Steppenwolf Theatre Company has announced full cast and creative team for The March, based on the novel by E. L. Doctorow and adapted and directed by Tony Award winner Frank Galati, to run April 5-June 10.

The play takes place as General William Tecumseh Sherman marches 62,000 Union soldiers through the lush Georgia countryside, changing the lives of those caught up in its sweep, including a liberated slave, a sheltered daughter of a Southern judge, and a pair of Confederate deserters.

The cast includes Alana Arenas, Ian Barford, Carrie Coon, Harry Groener, Stephen Louis Grush, Martha Lavey, Mariann Mayberry, James Vincent Meredith, and Alan Wilder, along with Phillip James Brannon, Cliff Chamberlain, Patrick Clear, Alex Goldklang, Anthony Kayer, Michael Mahler, Shannon Matesky, Luce Metrius, Andy Monson, John Mossman, Alex Newkirk, Alex Ring, Joe Sinopoli, Philip R. Smith, and Alex Stage.

The production team includes James Schuette (scenic design), Virgil Johnson (costume design), James F. Ingalls (lighting design), and Josh Schmidt (sound design and original music).

Galati's many directing credits include Ragtime, The Grapes of Wrath, Endgame, Homebody/Kabul, and You Can't Take It With You.


Tagged in this Story