TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Spring Awakening Producers Honored With Champion of Change Award

The Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities recognized the Deaf West revival. logo
The cast of Deaf West Theatre's Spring Awakening at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre.
(© Joan Marcus)

Ken Davenport, Cody Lassen, Hunter Arnold, and David J. Kurs, producers of Deaf West Theatre's acclaimed revival of Spring Awakening, were presented with the Champion of Change Award yesterday by the Mayor's Office for People with Disabilities and Commissioner Victor Calise at the NDEAM (National Disability Employment Awareness Month) Awards. The event was held at the Tweed Courthouse in association with ACCES-VR, the NYC Placement Consortium, and the NY State Commission for the Blind.

Other recipients of the Champion of Change Award included Montefiore Medical Center, LinkedIn, Alpha Workshops, and JCPenney. NDEAM Awards were also presented to a variety of businesses including the VA Harbor Healthcare, Union Beer, Home Depot, National Parks Service, and ABM.

The Champion of Change Award was created in honor of the 25th anniversary of the signing of the Americans with Disabilities Act, as well as the 25th year that the NDEAM Awards have been presented in New York City. The accolade acknowledges those in the community who, through their innovation, vision, design, development and implementation, change the status quo for employment and career opportunities for people with disabilities.

Deaf West Theatre was recognized "for its efforts to increase diversity and inclusivity on Broadway. Its production of Spring Awakening shines a spotlight on talented actors of all abilities and creates a Broadway experience that can be enjoyed by every New Yorker. As we celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, I am delighted to join in applauding Deaf West Theatre's commitment to broadening our city's cultural landscape and to building a more equitable tomorrow for all New Yorkers. [Signed, Bill de Blasio, Mayor; October 19, 2015.]"

Directed by Michael Arden and choreographed by Spencer Liff, Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik's Tony Award-winning coming-of-age musical is now running at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre.

The complete cast of Spring Awakening is Robert Ariza, Miles Barbee, Katie Boeck, Alex Boniello, Joshua Castille, Lizzy Cuesta, Daniel N. Durant, Treshelle Edmond, Sandra Mae Frank, Kathryn Gallagher, Sean Grandillo, Elizabeth Greene, Russell Harvard, Amelia Hensley, Van Hughes, Lauren Luiz, Emmy and Golden Globe Award winner Camryn Manheim, Daniel Marmion, Academy and Golden Globe Award winner Marlee Matlin, Austin P. McKenzie, Andy Mientus, Patrick Page, Ren, Krysta Rodriguez, Daniel David Stewart, Ali Stroker, Alexandra Winter, and Alex Wyse.

For tickets and more information, click here.