TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Motown The Musical Will End New Broadway Engagement Three Months Early

The production is currently running at the Nederlander Theatre.

Krisha Marcano, Allison Semmes, and Trisha Jeffrey star as the Supremes in Berry Gordy's Motown The Musical, directed by Charles Randolph-Wright, at Broadway's Nederlander Theatre.
(© Joan Marcus)

The new Broadway engagement of Motown The Musical will end its run three months earlier than expected on July 31, 2016. The production was originally scheduled to close November 13 at the Nederlander Theatre. The mounting served as the final stop on the show's first national tour.

Filled with songs from the legendary songbook of Motown Records, the musical tracks label founder Berry Gordy's journey through his illustrious career, his marriage to the great Diana Ross, and his impact on music icons like Michael Jackson, Smokey Robinson, Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, and many more.

Directed by Charles Randolph-Wright and featuring a book by Gordy, Motown The Musical opened April 14, 2013, at Broadway's Lunt-Fontanne Theatre. It closed after 775 performances on January 18, 2015, and recouped its initial investment. The first national tour of Motown The Musical opened in Chicago in April 2014. A London production began performances February 11, 2016.

Chester Gregory leads the company as Berry Gordy, alongside Allison Semmes as Diana Ross, Jesse Nager as Smokey Robinson, Jarran Muse as Marvin Gaye, and J.J. Batteast and Leon Outlaw Jr. as Young Berry Gordy/Stevie Wonder/Michael Jackson.

The 33-member ensemble features Nik Alexander, Erick Buckley, Chante Carmel, Chadaé, Lynorris Evans, Anissa Felix, Talya Groves, Rod Harrelson, Robert Hartwell, Rodney Earl Jackson, Jr., Trisha Jeffrey, Jamie LaVerdiere, Elijah Ahmad Lewis, Loren Lott, Jarvis B. Manning, Jr., Krisha Marcano, Marq Moss, Rashad Naylor, Ramone Owens, Olivia Puckett, Nicholas Ryan, Jamison Scott, Joey Stone, Doug Storm, Martina Sykes, Nik Walker, and Galen J. Williams.

Motown The Musical features choreography by Patricia Wilcox and Warren Adams, scenic design by David Korins, costume design by ESosa, lighting design by Natasha Katz, sound design by Peter Hylenski, projection design by Daniel Brodie, arrangements and orchestrations by Ethan Popp, co-orchestrations and additional arrangements by Bryan Crook, dance arrangements by Zane Mark, and music direction by Joseph Joubert.

For tickets and more information, click here.